Get With the Program

December 15, 2008 at 6:20 pm (Information, My Thoughts, The Story, Writing Tips) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I just finished importing my story into a program called yWriter.

It was hard work, because the program asks you to re-organize the whole text into a more divisive format.  It’s taken me about a month to complete the transition.  However, now that it is finally complete, it will be much, much easier for me to add things and change elements around to come up with the perfect story.  I don’t have to settle for less, just because it would be too much effort to make changes!

You can now read my story in a number of different ways.  For example, you can quickly skim the chapter names to get some idea of what it’s all about.  Then, you can click on each chapter name for a quick description of that chapter.  Within each chapter (and on the same screen), you can see the different scenes in that chapter.  Skimming the scene headings provides a deeper understanding of the story, without you being forced to read the actual text.  It’s based on the Snowflake Method of writing.  Fun, huh?

I know it’s strange to be reading about my story design without knowing what it’s all about, but don’t worry, you’ll know more very soon.  But, if you’re interested in writing your own story, you would do well to try the software for yourself before you start typing.  You can import things later, but it took me a long time to do it that way.  yWriter is completely free, and it will even help you to start your story and build it from the ground up in an organized, efficient manner.  It’s just… useful.

I am not affiliated with the maker of yWriter in any shape or form, but I can’t praise it highly enough – especially as it is completely free!  if you want to check it out, just click the link embedded in its name.

2 Comments

  1. eBookGuru said,

    Sounds like an interesting program, I’ll have to check it out. Does it include any export functions for eBooks?

  2. sirbush said,

    An excellent question. As I have yet to export anything (I’ve been focusing on importing instead), I had to check for the answer.

    It can export to these formats:
    HTML, Text (.txt), RTF, Nanowrimo Obfusicated Text (whatever THAT is), Outline (not tried that yet), Synopsis, Synopsis with HTML Timeline, and Scene Descriptions.

    So, I’d imagine you could then export the HTML or RTF to an eBook format quite easily with other free software. It doesn’t seem to be built-in, though.

    By the way, I just noticed it has a note function. This can be very useful for jotting down ideas or themes you want to run through the story. You can either have overall notes (with a heading that you click for more information), or put notes directly into scenes if they are relevant.

Leave a Reply

